Fifteen of my favourite things

My family

The home in which I live. My husband with ALL of my children are my world, plus our two cats. We’re as one. It is busy, loud and often crazy here, but I couldn’t stand for it to be any other way.

Being happy

No explanation really.

Grey’s Anatomy

Sad as it may seem but it really helped me escape daily life. My husband brought me a bundle of the box sets for my 30th birthday, we had not long lost our daughter, I was pregnant again, suffering with pains, vomiting and grief, it helped give me some sanity.

Writing

I have always loved it. From English assignments, to diary writing, I may not have been very regular with that, but it has been a huge form of therapy for me over the years. I was in a volatile relationship before my first husband, and writing letters to friends, conversations helped me to get things out. I had a break down just before be split, writing really helped.  Of course it has gone on to help me through my grief and loss.

Photography

I have always loved this too. I assisted at weddings as a teen did my work experience there too. I love being behind the camera, capturing images, posed or natural.

Summer Days

Warm Summer days where you can either just remain at home, drag the paddling pool out, and the BBQ, invite friends over. Or the days you can pack the car so full, it can take you anywhere, the beach, the countryside, a theme park. Summer helps things be more open.

Making Memories

As above with the Summery Days, but what you do, the rainy days can also be just as fun splashing about in muddy puddles, or staying at home with a DVD and a board game.

Listening to Music

I love all sorts of music, I don’t really have one set of genre that I favour over others, I used to love Rock music only, but I have furthered what I now like, I’m open to so much. Music takes you anywhere, brings tears, and gives laughter.

My Job

Although I have children, I never would have imagined ever working with them. I had worked in the care industry for many; many years even contemplated becoming a Nurse. But then things changed, there was no way I could be the warm person to do that job any more. There was a job advertised not long after our youngest was born, and I entered the world of working with children.

Christmas

I have always loved Christmas, love the magic; I’d like to make it as magical as possible for them for me too. I have almost completed my Christmas Shopping for this year. The decorations, the food all of it, is perfect.

Camping

 (Although we don’t do this often enough)

We have our next camping trip coming up really soon, we’re really excited, we meet up with members of my husband’s family have a giggle, eat food and have some drink; until the next year.

The smell of “thundery” rain

When there is a storm brewing, the type with the heat, where thunder comes too, it is such a wonderful smell.

Stationery

I have a little bit of an obsession with stationery. I have so many notebooks, some have never even been used, they’re all so very pretty, I could probably find a reason to own all stationery. My favourite is my two journals with a photo of me and Melody. I received them when she was still alive.

Hedgehogs

They have always been my favourite animals, right from a little girl. I always wanted to visit Mrs Tiggy Winkle Hospital. I think they’re wonderful.

PC/Tablet gaming…The cheesier the better

I love things like Town Ship, Sims but I also love Assassin’s Creed just as much. I’m not a huge gamer; that and we currently don’t have a console, but it is another way to get lost in a world, where you can shut out the world.

“These are a few of my favourite things”

The Red Head Diaries

 

Leave a Reply

